The Best Times to Post on Social Media During COVID-19

 

The COVID-19 pandemic has greatly affected the way we interact, work and manage our businesses.

Our social media behaviours have also been affected as well. Before the pandemic, reports analyzed the best days and hours to post on social media to maximize engagement. Due to recent events, this schedule has shifted. Based on a recent study from Sprout Social, these are the best times to post on social media in today’s environment:

Facebook

Prior to the pandemic, Wednesdays from 11 a.m. and 1-2 p.m. CST were the optimal times to post on Facebook. Now, engagement on Facebook has changed. The best times to posts are:

Monday: 

  • CST: 10 a.m. & 11 a.m.
  • EST: 11 a.m. & 12 p.m.
  • MST: 9 a.m. & 10 a.m.
  • PST: 8 a.m. & 9 a.m.

Wednesday:

  • CST: 10 a.m. & 11 a.m.
  • EST: 11 a.m. & 12 p.m.
  • MST: 9 a.m. & 10 a.m.
  • PST: 8 a.m. & 9 a.m.

Friday:

  • CST: 10 a.m. & 11 a.m.
  • EST: 11 a.m. & 12 p.m.
  • MST: 9 a.m. & 10 a.m.
  • PST: 8 a.m. & 9 a.m.

Twitter

Twitter engagement has not drastically changed. Before the pandemic, Wednesdays and Fridays at 9 a.m. CST were the optimal times to post on Twitter. The current best times to posts are:

Friday:

  • CST: 7 – 9 a.m.
  • EST: 8 – 10 a.m.
  • MST: 6 – 8 a.m.
  • PST: 5 – 7 a.m.

Instagram

Prior to the pandemic, Wednesday at 11 a.m. and Friday from 10 – 11 a.m. CST were the optimal times to post. This has changed slightly. The best times to post are:

Monday: 

  • CST: 11 a.m.
  • EST: 12 p.m.
  • MST: 10 a.m.
  • PST: 9 a.m.

Tuesday:

  • CST: 11 a.m. & 2 p.m.
  • EST: 12 p.m. & 3 p.m.
  • MST: 10 a.m. & 1 p.m.
  • PST: 9 a.m. & 12 p.m.

Friday:

  • CST: 11 a.m.
  • EST: 12 p.m.
  • MST: 10 a.m.
  • PST: 9 a.m.

LinkedIn

LinkedIn engagement has shifted slightly as well. Users weekday engagement now start and end later. Activity can start as early as 8 a.m. and end at 4 p.m. CST. Prior to the pandemic, the best times to post were Wednesdays from 8–10 a.m. and 12 p.m. CST, Thursdays at 9 a.m. and 1–2 p.m. CST, and Fridays at 9 a.m. CST. The optimal times to post today are:

Wednesday: 

  • CST: 3 p.m.
  • EST: 4 p.m.
  • MST: 2 p.m.
  • PST: 1 p.m.

Thursday: 

  • CST: 9 – 10 a.m.
  • EST: 10 – 11 a.m.
  • MST: 8 – 9 a.m.
  • PST: 7 – 8 a.m.

Friday:

  • CST: 11 a.m – 12 p.m.
  • EST: 12 – 1 p.m.
  • MST: 10 – 11  a.m.
  • PST: 9 – 10 a.m.

This study is a great reminder that social media behaviours can change as we continue to face the challenges and impact of this pandemic. When it comes to social media, it’s important to take peak hours into consideration, but it’s also very important to analyze your audience’s data and behaviour on social media if possible. By analyzing and listening to your data, you can quickly adapt to the changes in your audience’s social media behaviours and improve your social media strategy.

For more social media tips, download our social media guide today.

Download the Free Guide